Upcoming posts to this blog

Starting this week and for the next few, I’ll be writing responses to GRE Writing Section questions. I will be retaking the GRE this fall and need to do a better job on the Writing Section. I’ll also be studying for the other portions including the quantitative section. I didn’t do horrible my last attempt but I want to do better.

The GRE website has a pool of the two sets of questions – an Issue and an Argument – that I’ll be choosing from to write on. I’ll do an Issue on day and an Argument the next. I get thirty minutes for each so, i’ll set a timer on my writing. I think this will be a good opportunity to analyze how I write and maybe even modify my methodology.

I am actually looking forward to retaking the GRE. And with a little luck, getting into Grad School and starting next fall.

My idea for my research paper keeps spinning through my head. Technical writing today is vastly different because of the tools available and the methods that can be used. Is it better? Do we (technical writers) still gear our writing to specific audiences or are we having to broaden the scope because more people may be reading what we’ve written? These and other questions will be the basis of my argument in my research paper. Since I look at technical writing as a translation of languages, the paper will have a different angle than what is typical.

And now, I’m off to let my puppy dog back in, feed him, take a shower and get my work day moving.
Cheers!
Happy Reading!

And, please, feel free to comment.

About techwriterabqnm

I write for fun and get paid for it!
This entry was posted in Grad School, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment