Showing up

Ahh Mondays. Mondays after the the time change back to Standard Time are my favorite. This clock is the one my internal clock is set to.  For the most part I prefer Standard Time to Daylight Saving Time. Why do we need to save daylight, what are we saving it for?

I read a blog this morning that reminded me of my work ethic. Show up, work hard, learn, improve.

I’ll admit it, I am guilty of not showing up for my own life. I have dreams and aspirations that I wait around hoping will fulfill themselves without my input. Funny how life is.

As the author of the blog points out:

Whatever the case, there is no substitute for showing up, working hard, learning and improving.

Do that every day, and one day you will become exactly what you set out to.

Keep ignoring it and progress will always be just out of your reach.

Choose wisely.

My post today is two fold. It’s a swift kick in the arse regarding my serious lack of follow through on applying for grad school and a knock at my personal life.

It’s weird how one email read before another can make you think about things in a different context.

Take my dating life for example. The non-existent one. I haven’t been on a date in a while, I simply decided I wanted to be single for a while because I was tired of putting everything I had into a relationship and getting nothing in return. It was tiring. So did I stop showing up for my own life? Yes and no.

Yes because I don’t really go out anywhere. I should change that. No because I’ve been focused on a different area of my life. Me.

Now, a social butterfly I’m not, nor will I ever be. But getting out once in a while and doing something would be a good idea. Maybe I’ll go play pool at my favorite hangout (Doc & Eddy’s), even if I go by myself. And if I go on Tuesday, pool is free – food and beverage are extra.

Happy Monday!

Happy Reading!

About techwriterabqnm

I write for fun and get paid for it!
This entry was posted in General Stuff, Grad School, Inspiration, Self reflection, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

